Carroll “CD” Hawhee

CD HawheeHawhee was raised in Cannelton, Ind. and graduated from high school there. He attended Ball State for two years and then entered the Navy in 1941. In 1947, he graduated from Morehead State University. He had his Master’s Degree from Xavier University. It was from Morehead, though, Hawhee came to Waverly.

When Hawhee came to Waverly in June of 1947, he was the coach, period. He coached everything, and did so for 19 years. During that time, he re-started football at Waverly, and coached baseball and track as well as basketball. At the end of the 1965-66 school year, Hawhee gave up other sports to concentrate on basketball and golf, a sport he started and coached until 1972.

CD spent his entire coaching career at Waverly High School, 1947-1979 – 32 years during which he accumulated 477 wins and 214 losses for a .690 won-loss percentage. In 1970, Waverly entered the Southeaster Ohio Athletic League and the Tigers compiled at 105-21 record with him as coach. The Tigers won four titles and compiled the league’s second longest winning streak in the league’s history at 45. After he devoted his full time to basketball in 1965-66, Hawhee led Waverly to a 225-61 record on the basketball floor.

At one point, Waverly won the last six SOC titled and their first three SEOAL titles in basketball and all told won nine consecutive league basketball titles. Hawhee teams got started quickly in basketball as he won his first 10 games at Waverly during the 1947-48 season. His basketball teams went to the state tournament once, that in 1970. They won six district titles in 1953, 1954, 1970, 1971, 1972 and 1974, nine sectional crowns and one regional title.

CD was active in the OHSBCA, serving as President from 1975-77. In March 1979, Hawhee was awarded the Paul Walker Award by the Ohio High School Boys Basketball Coaches’ Association for his contributions to the game. He was the Associated Press Boys Class AA Basketball Coach of the Year in Ohio.

Five times since the award started in 1965, he was voted as the Southeastern Ohio District Class AA Coach of the Year, an honor he has won more times than anyone. Twelve times he was selected as Coach of the Year in the Southeastern Ohio Athletic League, an honor he won four of his first five years in the league, and the Southern Ohio Conference where he was honored in both football and basketball four times as the only many to win the honor in both sports.